Announcing the Finalists of the Te Nati Tahiti - Hawaiiki Hou Short Film Prize 2014

The Wairoa Maori Film Festival was approached by film makers in Tahiti earlier this year to help them set up the Te Nati Film Festival - six new short films by Maori film makers, six new shorts by native Tahitians. The festival has a focus on cultural exchange, and as a result we can now announce the TE NATI TAHITI - HAWAIIKI HOU SHORT FILM PRIZE.

We have worked with young emerging film makers in Tahiti French Polynesia, lead by Tiairani Drollet-Le Caill, to establish a cultural exchange in film between Maori (Native New Zealand) and Maohi (Native Tahitian) film makers.

Each year, six short films will be selected by each festival to screen at their festival partner. This year, the Wairoa Maori Film Festival worked with the Association of the Te Nati Film Festival to select six Maori short films that will screen in Te Nati in April 2014. The following six films to screen in Tahiti are:

HOME (AUSTRALIA) 15 MIN Apirana Ipo Te Maipi
TOHUNGA 8 MIN Rebecca Collins
AHI KAA 14 MIN Richard Curtis
INC'D 16 MIN Darren Simmonds

Our kind thanks to the directors and producers of the above six films who have agreed to their films screening in Tahiti, and with one to receive a PREMIERE PRIZE, the TE NATI TAHITI "HAWAIIKI HOU" SHORT FILM PRIZE, comprising:

  • 1 x International Airfare from Auckland to Papeete to attend the TE NATI FILM FESTIVAL 2015
  • Accommodation and meals for 1 person for the duration of their stay in French Polynesia
  • Attendance of guest film maker to TE NATI FILM FESTIVAL 2015 at   @ Le Musee de Tahiti et des Iles
    Punaauia, Tahiti, French Polynesia.

The TE NATI "HAWAIIKI HOU" SHORT FILM PRIZE will be presented by Tiairani Drollet-Le Caill and Lennie Hill, Executive members of Te Nati Film Festival, at the Wairoa Maori Film Festival later this month.